About Us

The Texas Trees Foundation

The Texas Trees Foundation (Texas Trees) serves as a catalyst in creating a new green legacy for North Texas through transformational, research-based plans that educate and mobilize the public to activate the social, economic, environmental, and health benefits that trees and urban forestry provide for a better quality of life.

The Mission of the Texas Trees Foundation is (i) to preserve, beautify and expand parks and other public natural green spaces, and (ii) to beautify our public streets, boulevards and rights-of-way by planting trees and encouraging others to do the same through educational programs that focus on the importance of building and protecting the “urban forest” today as a legacy for generations to come.

Certificate of Incorporation:
Dallas Parks Foundation – 1982
Dallas Trees & Parks Foundation – 1988
Texas Trees Foundation – 2004

The Texas Trees Foundation has a vision for our community. It is a community comprised of beautiful, well maintained parks, shady tree-lined streets and boulevards, hiking, biking and nature trails, and other outdoor amenities which combine to form a living and working environment that enhances the economic value of its commercial areas and its neighborhoods, and nurtures the health, safety and quality of life of all its citizens; a community in which its citizens actively participate in building and sustaining its “urban forest.” The Foundation will serve as a catalyst in creating such a community.

North Texas has one of the most challenging urban climates in the United States. The Dallas Metroplex endures oppressive summer heat, limited rainfall, poor soils, and one of the nation’s worst problems with air pollution. Energy costs keep rising and the urban heat island effect continues to increase temperatures. Residents are at risk and need a solution.

Texas Trees Foundation provides education, trees, and other support needed to create more livable communities and better land stewards through a variety of initiatives, programs, projects and partnerships.

Staff

Norm Daley

Chief Operations and Communications Officer

norm@texastrees.org

Beth Edwards

Chief Financial Officer

beth@texastrees.org

Kristy Offenburger

Kristy Offenburger

Sr. Manager, Communications & Marketing

kristy@texastrees.org

Alex Rea

Alex Rea

Grants Coordinator

alex@texastrees.org

Urban Forestry

Rachel McGregor

Urban Forestry Manager

rachel@texastrees.org

Emily Plauche

Urban Forestry Coordinator

emilyp@texastrees.org

Cheri Cuellar

Urban Forestry Coordinator

cheri@texastrees.org

Tara Nathanson

Urban Forestry Coordinator

tara@texastrees.org

Christopher Worst

Urban Forest Coordinator / Tree Farm supervisor

chrisw@texastrees.org

Cool Schools Program

Samantha Bradley

Cool Schools Program Manager

samantha@texastrees.org

Lindsay Hoot

Cool Schools Education Coordinator

lindsay@texastrees.org

Alexa Francisco-Vazquez

Cool Schools Coordinator

alexa@texastrees.org

Southwestern Medical District Transformation

Lannie McClelen

Southwestern Medical District Program Manager

lannie@texastrees.org

Rose Jones, PhD

Research & Strategy in Urban Green Health

rose@texastrees.org

Marinda Griffin

Southwestern Medical District Urban Design Associate

marinda@texastrees.org 

Available Positions

Submit your resume to info@texastrees.org if you’re interested in joining the Texas Trees Foundation! We love branching out and growing our team. When positions are available, they are posted on indeed.com.

Board of Trustees

Executive Committee

Dan E. Patterson
Chairman
Patterson Thoma Family Office

Don M. Glendenning
Vice-President
Locke Lord LLP

Adam McGill
Secretary
Crow Holdings

Board Members

Stanley R. Levenson
Media Professional

Patrick D. Little
Supply Chain Manager- Off Site Construction
Turner Construction Company

Texas Executive
AECOM
Executive Vice President, Chief Legal and Human Resources Officer, and Corporate Secretary
CEC Entertainment
Dianne Scovell
Volunteer & Community Leader
Senior Vice President, Asset Management
Weitzman
Manager, Marketing Services
Atmos Energy
Senior Director of Community Affairs
Vistra Energy